If somebody can geek over weekly TV sketch comedy, it’s me. I’ve been watching and almost obsessing over the Lorne Michaels-helmed weekly live comedy of SNL since I was 10 years old. Another thing I was very into at the time, and still am into, are the ladies. Nothing can quite exceed the charm of a funny hot lady, which is why Lorne has been trying so hard to pack the cast with them in recent years. Also, in honor of former SNL head writer Tina Fey being the youngest recipient of the Mark Twain humor prize, here is a list of the Top 5 SNL cast members who have occasionally shown up in my personal highlight reel from time to time. (My personal taste and biases are, unfortunately, in full display here.)

5. Sarah Silverman
Featured Player 1994-1995
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

She was just a blip on the radar before she made her way to her current celebrity status as a successful stand-up and actress, but Sarah Silverman’s year on SNL was, like many, overshadowed by the Sandler-Spade-Farley juggernaut. She’s very “approachable” cute, and knows how to use her natural strengths to her advantage. Also, she’s dated Jimmy Kimmel in the past, which, not saying anything about how attractive I think I am, but I feel I’d have a shot.

4. Maya Rudolph
Cast Member 2000-2007
Photobucket
Photobucket

Being married to director Paul Thomas Anderson is just one sign of the great level of taste Maya Rudolph possesses. She’s a great singer, projects a down-to-earth personality that lets her get silly with the best with them, and is pretty as all get out. Seriously, what’s not to like?

3. Janeane Garofalo
Cast Member 1994-1995
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Another victim of the aforementioned Sandler-Spade-Farley juggernaut, Janene Garofalo was another smart female stand-up who got smothered by some overpowering comedic forces. I know Janeane is about twenty years my senior, but if I actually met her in person, I would probably begin instinctually and aggressively hitting on her with a furor as if my life depended on it. Like many of the geeks of my generation, “Garofalo-esque” is on my checklist of desired traits in a mate, and there’s good reason why.

2. Nasim Pedrad
Cast Member 2009-Present
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

There has been a recent glut of pretty SNL cast members, but have they all been funny? Decidedly not. I have high hopes for Nasim Pedrad, she’s had a few chances to shine with some smart sketches and characters, and I hope they find a way to use her to her full potential before they lose her like they used the similarly pretty and similarly underutilized Michaela Watkins.

1. Tina Fey
Cast Member 2000-2006, Writer 1997-2006, Head Writer 1999-2006
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Tina Fey really has only two options. She can either stop being so awesome and rubbing my figurative face in it, or she can divorce her husband and let me take her out to a nice steak dinner. The choice is yours, Tina.

