I’ve been trying to build a respectable game collection for the Xbox 360 on a respectable budget, a feat which, with new games typically running at $59.99 a pop, is quite the challenge. So, I typically buy used, but, while trading in a few games, I came across a new game priced at $19.99 that I couldn’t pass up.

Photobucket

Sonic’s Ultimate Sega Collection contains over 40 classic titles from the Genesis, including all the good Sonic games I can think of (Sonics 1, 2, 3, and Sonic and Knuckles,) all three Golden Axes, all three Streets of Rages, Ecco the Dolphin, Shining Force 1 and 2, Altered Beast, Phantasy Star 1 through 4, and Dr. Robotnik’s mean Bean Machine, just to scratch the surface. It’s available for both the PS3 and the XBox 360.

I owned a Sega Genesis, but it wasn’t the primary console of choice (this, for me, was the Super Nintendo, followed by the Playstation, then the Playstation 2, with a gradual shift to the Xbox,) and I don’t have the retro gaming nostalgia for many of these titles, and have been approaching them as someone familiar (and forgiving) of the graphical limitations of the time, looking for fun gameplay and stories. And I’ve found hours of enjoyment here. So, if you’re a nostalgic fan of 90’s gaming, or just someone looking for a whole lot of bang for their buck, this is definitely a game worth checking out!

