Photobucket

This ruggedly handsome fellow is actor-musician Darren Criss, who plays Blaine on the hit Fox show Glee. I have only watched a few episodes, and am not a big fan of the show (although I know a few people who are,) in fact, there’s only one reason I’ve ever thought of watching the show really…

Photobucket
This should be no surprise to anybody here.

…but unlike diehard Gleeks or many mainstream media folk, I remember Darren Criss from something entirely different.

The first thing I saw him in was Team StarKid‘s A Very Potter Musical where he played Harry. If you don’t get all snippy with canon and continuity (since this plays hard and fast with both,) this is an awesome little musical. Criss’ performance in it is standout, as are many of the others (Lauren Lopez crossdressing as the preening immature Draco Malfoy and Joe Walker as Lord Voldemort both do my favorite jobs in the whole thing,) but Criss as Harry gets probably my favorite song in the whole thing (and it opens up the whole production.)

He’s also covered a few Disney songs to devastating effect. If that isn’t at least a little dorky, I don’t know what is.


(Especially this one, if only for including the second verse that wasn’t in the opening theme.)

So, kudos to Darren for his success, and I wish him all the success in the world!